The Marshall County Commission met in regular session on Wednesday, January 22, 2014 at 10:00 am in the Marshall County Commission Chambers.

PRESENT WERE:

James Hutcheson, Chairman
William H. Stricklend, III, Dist. 1 Commissioner
R.E. Martin, Dist. 2 Commissioner
Tamey Hale, Dist. 4 Commissioner
Shelly Fleisher, County Administrator
Jennifer Lewis, Commission Clerk
Bob Pirando, County Engineer
Karen Young, Administrative Assistant

Vacant, Dist. 3 Commissioner

Martha McLendon with Marshall County Department of Human Services presented the 2013 Humanitarian Award to Dr. David and Shirley Chupp. They received this award due to their outstanding work with their Room at the Inn program.

Chairman Hutcheson called the meeting to order and asked Barry Dunn, Pastor at First Methodist Church of Albertville, to deliver the invocation. He then asked Commissioner Stricklend to lead the Pledge of Allegiance.

CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Commissioner Martin, duly seconded by Commissioner Hale, all members voting affirmatively and so carried to approve the consent agenda as read by Chairman Hutcheson. The consent agenda includes the minutes from the January 13, 2014 commission meeting and the claims docket for January 9, 2014 – January 17, 2014 in the amount of \$692,171.94.

APPROVE ACCEPTANCE OF PROPOSAL FOR SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT PLAN UPDATE

A motion was made by Commissioner Hale, duly seconded by Commissioner Stricklend, all members voting affirmatively and so carried to follow the recommendation of County Engineer Pirando and approve the acceptance of proposal for Solid Waste Management Plan Update. This update is required by ADEM and will cost \$17,500, which is already in the budget.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

MEETING AD IOURNED

There being no further business; a motion was made by Commissioner Stricklend, duly seconded by Commissioner Martin and so carried to adjourn.

WILL THE ADDOCKALD
James Hutcheson, Chairman
William H. Stricklend, District 1 Commissioner
R.E. Martin, District 2 Commissioner
vacant
District 3 Commissioner
Tamey Hale, District 4 Commissioner